2015 Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early-Career Women Scientists in the Developing World

The nomination period opened today for the Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early-Career Women Scientists, which annually recognize excellence in research achieved by scientists in Africa, the Middle East, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean. This year's five regional awards will be selected in the fields of physics and mathematics. Nominations will be accepted until 17 October 2014.

The awards are sponsored and organized by The Elsevier Foundation, the Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World (OWSD) and The World Academy of Sciences for the advancement of science in developing countries (TWAS). The competition will be judged by a distinguished panel of international physicists and mathematicians, including members of TWAS and OWSD, and chaired by OWSD; and one winner from each region will be announced in mid-February 2015 at the Annual Meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

The five winners will each receive a cash prize of US$5,000, plus all-expenses paid attendance at the AAAS meeting in San Jose, California; as well as one year access to Elsevier's ScienceDirect and Scopus. In addition, this year the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), based in Trieste, Italy, is offering each of the winners free attendance and accommodation at one of ICTP's renowned workshops or conferences.

The Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early-Career Women Scientists rotate annually between disciplines (physics/math, medical/life sciences, and chemistry) to ensure optimal exposure and networking synergies. Previous winners say the awards have had a powerful effect, enhancing the visibility of their past work and creating new opportunities for the future.

Nominations for the 2015 awards will be accepted for early-career women scientists from the 81 scientifically lagging countries as defined by TWAS who are working in the field of physics and mathematics and have received their PhD within the past ten years.

Go to top