Equator Prize 2014

The Equator Prize 2014 will recognize leading community-based efforts to reduce poverty through the conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity and ecosystems. Winning initiatives receive USD 5,000, with several selected for special recognition and a total US$ 20,000.

This cycle of the award has the theme "Local Climate Action" and special recognition will be awarded in:

  • Smallholder agriculture and food security
  • Forest management (including REDD+)
  • Sustainable land management
  • Ecosystem restoration
  • Sustainable energy
  • Water security
  • Disaster risk reduction

In order to be eligible for the Equator Prize 2014, nominees must:

  • Have been in operation for at least 3 years
  • Be a community-based or local group, operating in a rural area
  • Be located within a country receiving support from the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), excluding countries with a high level of development

The deadline for nominations is 22 March 2014.

Go to top